Guide to Marriage Licenses
How to apply for a marriage license
Complete the marriage license application form. You may also get an application form at Registrar’s office at Lambertville City Hall. Do not sign the marriage application form before going to the Registrar. You must sign the application, under oath, in the presence of the issuing authority.
Requirements for entering into a marriage
The following criteria must be met before two people can enter a marriage:
- Not be a party to another civil union, domestic partnership or marriage in this state or recognized by this state;
- Be at least 18 years of age.
Where to apply
- Apply for the marriage license in the New Jersey municipality where either party resides. The license is valid throughout New Jersey.
- If neither applicant is a New Jersey resident, submit the application in the municipality where the marriage ceremony will be performed. In this case, the license is only valid in the issuing municipality.
Required documents when applying for a marriage license
- Proof of identity by presenting your driver’s license, passport or state/federal I.D.
- Proof of residency by one applicant if a NJ resident
- Social Security number*
- A witness, 18 years of age or older
- The $28 application fee (WAIVED UNTIL JUNE 2023)
* Your social security number is required by law for US citizens and will be kept confidential.
Any documents in a foreign language must be accompanied by a certified English translation.
After you apply
There is a 72-hour waiting period before the license is issued. The waiting period begins when the application is filed with the Local Registrar. There is no 72-hour waiting period for a remarriage; however, you must bring a certified copy of your existing marriage.
The marriage license application is valid for six months from the date accepted, unless the Registrar has given prior approval to extend the validity of the application to a maximum of one year. Only one marriage license may be granted from a marriage application. Once issued, a marriage license expires 30 days. If a license expires before being used, a new application must be made and another $28 fee remitted.
The only exception to this requirement is in the case where a civil and religious ceremony are to be performed on the same day. In this case, the Local Registrar will photocopy the marriage application, marking one “A” and one “B”, and issue the corresponding marriage licenses, marking them “A” and “B” as well. One copy will be used for the religious ceremony and the other for the civil ceremony.
Who can (and can’t) perform your ceremony
One of the specific laws governing the validity of a marriage in New Jersey deals with what groups are permitted to perform a marriage ceremony. This is detailed in N.J.S.A. 37:1-13, and currently permits judges, magistrates, mayors or deputy mayors, county clerks, chairmen of any township committees, and ministers of every religion to conduct a marriage ceremony in New Jersey in order for the marriage to be a valid one. A title of “Officiant” is currently not accepted by the state.
For individuals who are currently married in New Jersey or are married in another state or country, the option exists to reaffirm your relationship/vows by registering a remarriage.
To apply for a remarriage, the couple must provide proof of their existing marriage, meet the requirements for entering into a marriage in New Jersey and follow the guidelines above to completing the license application. The process for a remarriage license is the same as for the marriage license, except that the remarriage license must be accompanied by the proof of existing marriage. There is no 72-hour waiting period before the license is issued.